top of page
Search

Honey Kombucha aka Jun Tea

Updated: Jul 7, 2021

If you would like a slice of my Jun Scoby, please send me an email (honeyhousebarcelona@gmail.com) or whatapp (+14083481353).


Jun Tea, aka honey kombucha, aka the “champagne of kombucha” is made from a 100% honey-eating SCOBY (Symbiotic Colony of Bacteria and Yeast) and green tea. For the recipe I use to brew my Jun tea and step-by-step instructions, scroll to the bottom of this page.


Why I prefer Jun:

  • Green tea & honey > black tea & sugar. Green tea is known for its many health benefits, and honey is an antioxidant, anti inflammatory, antifungal, and contains vitamins and minerals. (To my understanding, sugar has 0 health benefits)

  • Jun tea is good for your gut because of the healthy bacteria it provides, just like other fermented foods and beverages. This healthy bacteria aids in digestion and provides an environment to build a strong immune system from the inside out.

  • Different honeys = different flavors of Jun. As long as the honey is 100% pure and raw, you can use whatever kind you wish. I have made Jun from thyme honey and multifloral honey. Each batch is an opportunity for a new honey to try.


This is the recipe I use to make my Jun Tea:

Materials

Glass jar, 1 gallon

6in x 6in piece of clean fabric or cheese cloth

Rubber band

Bottles (for post-brew)


Ingredients

1 Jun Scoby

1 cup of already fermented Jun (starter liquid for our brew)

1.5 liters of freshly boiled bottled water

165g pure, raw honey

4 bags of green tea


Directions

  1. Pour 1.5L of bottled water into a large pot and bring to a boil.

  2. Add 4 bags of your favorite organic green tea (but avoid using tea with dried fruit as this can create unwanted mold). How long you steep the tea in is up to you! I like a strong green tea flavor, so I leave the tea bags in to steep until step #3.

  3. When the tea + water has cooled down to lukewarm/room temperature (about 2 hours), I add the 165g pure, raw honey and stir until it is completely disolved. Note: adding honey to boiling water will kill the beneficial properties.

  4. Pour the honey + green tea mix into your glass 1 gallon jar, add the 1 cup of already fermented Jun tea (if this is your first time brewing!) and gently add the Jun scoby on top.

  5. Place your 6in x 6in fabric on top of the glass jar and fasten with a rubber band.

  6. Let your jar sit in a dark place and leave it undisturbed for 4-7 days. Jun tea tends to ferment faster than kombucha, in the summer (when it was hot outside) I found that my Jun tea was ready in 4 days, but in the cooler winter months you might want to leave your Jun tea to ferment a bit longer.

461 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page